Skip to content

Why Pakistani Players are Banned from IPL (Indian Premier League)

Why Pakistani Players are Banned from IPL

In 2008 Indian Premier League (IPL) started, it did have some cricket players from Pakistan just like any other country. Even 11 Pakistani Cricket players were sold in the very first auction. They were Shoiab Akhtar (Kolkata Knight Riders), Shoiab Malik (Delhi Daredevils), Shahid Afridi (Deccan Chargers), Younis Khan (Rajasthan Royals), Mohammad Asif (Delhi Daredevils), Kamran Akmal (Rajasthan Royals), Umar Gul (Kolkata Knight Riders), Sohail Tanvir, (Rajasthan Royals), Mohammad Hafeez (Kolkata Knight Riders), Salman Butt (Kolkata Knight Riders), Misbah ul Haq (Royal Challengers Bangalore).

But then on 26 Nov 2008, India Faced a major terrorist attack. It was clear that the terrorists had come from Pakistan. The country refused to acknowledge the facts and was ignorant on their part, despite all evidence pointing at Laskar-e-Taiba.

Even now there are theories in Pakistan that it was an attack staged by India’s external intelligence wing RAW (Research and Analysis Wing). The Indian government decided to snap all ties with Pakistan and no longer allowed the Pakistani players to join the IPL.

In 2009, the BCCI prevented Pakistani cricketers from participating in the IPL due to diplomatic tensions in Kashmir. Once again in 2010, one of the biggest scandals in cricket rocked Pakistan, when two of their leading Pacers were involved in match-fixing. Thus, none was chosen by any team owners.

Don't Forget to Share!
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
iPage site builder banner
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x